We Won The GOLD !! at Cornwall Tourism Awards

Cornwall Tourism Awards Logo...a Gold for Newquay Sea Safaris and Fishing

OMG...We did it!!!  Newquay Sea Safaris and Fishing won Gold at the prestigious Cornwall Tourism Awards last night , hosted at the iconic and our  favourite hotel..The Headland Hotel.

Team Newquay Sea safaris and Fishing collecting Gold Award at Cornwall Tourism Awards

Secret Shopper from Visit Cornwall was quoted in the Western Morning News today as saying

" I wasn't at all sure what to expect from the Safari and was completely bowled over by the experience...I have already been recommending the experience to friends. It is truely exceptional."

Annabelle Proudly Displaying Beautiful Gold Award Designed and Sponsored by Jo Downs

Stunning Colours ofBblue and Green Glass Award

Chris and I are delighted that Newquay's Marine Wildlife is being talked about due to receiving this Award . It is our mission during our boat trips to engage passengers to the diversity of marine life and its plight in the hope that they become inspired and are moved to share their experience and sometimes work towards protecting them themselves. This is great timing as the Wildlife Trusts are launching a campaign to support our Megafauna such as Whales ,Sharks and Dolphins in

their ....."Save Our Ocean Giants" campaign.( Of note we would like to see seals added to this list)

for more info:

www.wildlifetrusts.org/oceangiants

Chris and Annabelle Lowe of Newquay Sea Safaris and Fishing at Cornwall Tourism Awards 2014

 The "Raging Bull" Phill Vickery presented the awards with Cornish and Englishman's enthusiasm and witPhil Vickery MBE alias " The Raging Bull"...Presenting Awards
 

Malcolm Bell, Head of Visit Cornwall, the Cornwall Development Company tourism service, praised the winning businesses:  “To have so many amazing businesses and individuals who work tirelessly to drive Cornwall’s tourism product forward is one of Cornwall’s greatest assets. With so many new names on the winners roll, these Awards highlight that Cornwall’s immense passion for quality is industry wide rather than the reserve of a few. Let’s hope Cornwall continues this success and comes home triumphant from the British Travel Awards later this month.”

Malcolm Bell at Cornwall Tourism Awards

Councillor Julian German, Portfolio Holder for Economy and Culture, continues:  “Behind the glamour of the Cornwall Tourism Awards is a rigorous judging process. The trophies are a symbol of hard-work, investment and passion, and considering the size of Cornwall’s visitor economy, winning one is a highly accomplished feat. I hope that the awards drive the winners forward to an even more successful future and inspire others to follow in their footsteps.”

 

Paul Hardingham, Strategic Development Director of title sponsors Hoseasons, adds: “Cornwall is the domestic jewel in the crown of the UK tourism industry, so it’s fantastic to be involved in the Awards this year. We help to bring nearly 250,000 people to county every year, staying in our lodge developments, holiday parks and cottages, and we are only able to do that thanks to the passion and commitment shown by the people behind these businesses.”

 
Skinners Our Favourite Local Brewery
 
Special thanks to all of our amazing crew who seem to have never ending enthusiasm but also all of our Wildlife Buddies who have helped make us what we are over the past 7 years. 
 
Vintage Style Cocktails
 
A Flipping Fintastic Result...Queue ....Bottlenose Dolphins...Please take a bow!
Bottlenose Dolphins off Newquay Headland Autumn 2014
 
....and congratulations to the Cornwall Tourism Awards team who worked really hard alongside the Headland Hotel Staff to create an Award Ceremony fit for the Hollywood Oscars
Well Done all Winners!smiley
The Awards for the evening are as follows:

 

THE WINNERS & COMMENDED BUSINESSES

HOLIDAY PARK & VILLAGE OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Stephens Scown Solicitors www.stephens-scown.co.uk

 

GOLD                    Trevornick Holiday Park, Cubert www.trevornick.co.uk

SILVER                  Mother Ivey’s Bay Holiday Park, Padstow www.motheriveysbay.com

BRONZE               Perran Sands Holiday Park, Perranporth www.haven.com/parks/cornwall/perran-sands

BRONZE               Trevella Park, Crantock www.trevella.co.uk

 

CAMPING & CARAVANNING PARK OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Cornwall Association of Tourist Attractions www.cata.co.uk

 

GOLD                    Trethem Mill Touring Park, St Just in Roseland www.trethem.com

SILVER                  Padstow Touring Park, Padstow www.padstowtouringpark.co.uk

BRONZE               Polmanter Touring Park, St Ives www.polmanter.com

Mr and Mrs Armstrong owners of Headland Hotel Newquay

HOLIDAY RESORT OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by e-Strategy www.e-strategy.net

 

GOLD                    The Headland, Newquay www.headlandhotel.co.uk

SILVER                  Mawgan Porth Holiday Park, Mawgan Porth  www.mawganporth.co.uk

BRONZE               Gwel an Mor Resort, Portreath www.gwelanmor.com

COMMENDED    The Valley, Carnon Downs www.thevalleycornwall.co.uk

 

WILDLIFE & MARINE ATTRACTION OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Jo Downs Glass Design  www.jodowns.com

 

GOLD                    Newquay Sea Safaris & Fishing, Newquay www.newquayseasafarisandfishing.co.uk

SILVER                  Newquay Zoo, Newquay www.newquayzoo.org.uk

BRONZE               Paradise Park, Hayle www.paradisepark.org.uk

COMMENDED    Wingz Bird & Animal Sanctuary, Par www.wingzbirdsanctuary.co.uk

 

TOURIST INFORMATION SERVICE OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by First Great Western www.firstgreatwestern.co.uk

 

GOLD                    Launceston Tourism Information Centre www.visitlaunceston.co.uk

SILVER                  Bodmin Visitor Information Centre www.bodminlive.com

 

THEME PARK & ATTRACTION OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Seymac Distribution www.seymacdistribution.com

 

GOLD                    Eden Project, Bodelva www.edenproject.com

COMMENDED    Cornwall’s Crealy Great Adventure Park, Wadebridge  www.crealy.co.uk/cornwall

 

BED & BREAKFAST AND GUEST ACCOMMODATION OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Nicholson’s www.nicholsonssw.co.uk

 

GOLD                    Lower Barns B&B, St Ewe www.bosue.co.uk

SILVER                  Highcliffe Contemporary Bed & Breakfast, Falmouth www.highcliffefalmouth.com

BRONZE               The Gurnard’s Head, Treen, www.gurnardshead.co.uk

COMMENDED    Downs Barn Farm, St Buryan  www.downsbarnfarm.co.uk

 

CAFÉ & TEAROOM OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Niddocks www.niddocks.com

 

GOLD                    Boscastle Farmshop & Café, Boscastle www.boscastlefarmshop.co.uk

SILVER                  Rick Stein’s Café, Padstow www.rickstein.com

SILVER                  The Waymarker, Constantine www.thewaymarker.co.uk

COMMENDED    The Park Café at Mawgan Porth, Mawgan Porth www.mawganporth.co.uk

 

ACCESS & INCLUSIVITY AWARD

Sponsored by Purple Cloud Consultancy www.purplecloudconsultancy.co.uk

 

GOLD                    Kernock Cottages, Saltash  www.kernockcottages.com

 

SELF CATERING HOLIDAY OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Pavey Group www.paveygroup.co.uk

 

GOLD                    Bosinver Farm Cottages, St Austell www.bosinver.co.uk

SILVER                  Treworgey Cottages, Duloe  www.cornishdreamcottages.co.uk

BRONZE               Cosawes Barton, Ponsanooth www.cosawesbarton.co.uk

COMMENDED    Farmer James Farm Holidays, St Kew www.farmerjames.co.uk

COMMENDED    Kernock Cottages, Saltash www.kernockcottages.com  

COMMENDED    Peninnis Farm Luxury Camping, St Mary’s www.peninnisfarmluxurycamping.co.uk    

COMMENDED    Restormel Manor, Lostwithiel www.duchyofcornwallholidaycottages.co.uk

 

 

GARDEN & COUNTRY HOUSE OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Sue Bradbury PR www.suebradburypr.com

 

GOLD                    The Lost Gardens of Heligan, Pentewan www.heligan.com

SILVER                  St Michael’s Mount, Marazion www.stmichaelsmount.co.uk

BRONZE               Eden Project, Bodelva www.edenproject.com

 

OUTSTANDING CUSTOMER SERVICE AWARD

Sponsored by Source for Business www.sourceforbusiness.co.uk

 

GOLD                    Farmer James of Farmer James Farm Holidays, St Kew www.farmerjames.co.uk

 

ART, MUSEUM & INDUSTRIAL ATTRACTION OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Nixon www.nixondesign.com

 

GOLD                    Telegraph Museum Porthcurno, Porthcurno www.porthcurno.org.uk

SILVER                  St Austell Brewery Visitor Centre, St Austell www.staustellbrewery.co.uk/visitor-centre

BRONZE               Geevor Tin Mine, Pendeen www.geevor.com

 

SMALL HOTEL OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Francis Clark www.francisclark.co.uk

 

GOLD                    Hell Bay Hotel, Bryher www.hellbay.co.uk

SILVER                  Talland Bay Hotel, nr Looe www.tallandbayhotel.co.uk

BRONZE               The Idle Rocks Hotel, St Mawes www.idlerocks.com

 

WILDLIFE FRIENDLY BUSINESS AWARD, in partnership with Cornwall Wildlife Trust

Sponsored by Kelly’s of Cornwall www.kellysofcornwall.co.uk

 

GOLD                    Feadon Farm Wildlife Centre at Gwel an Mor, Portreath www.feadonfarmwildlife.co.uk

SILVER                  The Lost Gardens of Heligan, Pentewan www.heligan.com

BRONZE               Perran Sands Holiday Park, Perranporth www.haven.com/parks/cornwall/perran-sands

COMMENDED    Encounter Cornwall, Golant www.encountercornwall.com

COMMENDED    Mother Ivey’s Bay Holiday Park, Padstow www.motheriveysbay.com

COMMENDED    Trenython Manor Hotel & Spa Resort, Par www.trenython.co.uk

 

PUB OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Scott Burridge Commercial www.sbcproperty.com

 

GOLD                    The Pandora Inn, Mylor www.pandorainn.com

SILVER                  The Ship Inn, Wadebridge  www.shipinnwadebridge.com

BRONZE               Rashleigh Arms, Charlestown www.rashleigharms.co.uk

BRONZE               The Kings Head, Ruan Lanihorne www.kingsheadruan.co.uk

 

TOURISM ACTIVITY, SPORT & EXPERIENCE OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Brewer and Bunney www.brewerandbunney.co.uk

 

GOLD                    Miracle Theatre, Cornwall www.miracletheatre.co.uk

GOLD                    Mobius Adventure Cornwall, Cubert www.mobiusonline.co.uk

BRONZE               Minack Theatre, Porthcurno www.minack.com

BRONZE               Padstow Seafood School, Padstow www.rickstein.com

COMMENDED    Koru Kayaking, St Agnes www.korukayaking.co.uk

COMMENDED    Scilly Seal Snorkelling, St Martins www.scillysealsnorkelling.com

COMMENDED    Ticket to Ride Surf School, Perranporth www.ttridesurfschool.co.uk

 

LARGE HOTEL OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Hotel Perfect www.hotelperfect.co.uk

 

GOLD                    The Scarlet, Mawgan Porth www.scarlethotel.co.uk

SILVER                  The Headland Hotel, Newquay www.headlandhotel.co.uk

BRONZE               St Michael’s Hotel & Spa, Falmouth www.stmichaelshotel.co.uk

 

DOG FRIENDLY ACCOMMODATION AWARD

Sponsored by James Wellbeloved www.wellbeloved.com

 

GOLD                    Helsbury Park, Launceston www.helsburypark.co.uk

SILVER                  Kernock Cottages, Saltash www.kernockcottages.com

BRONZE               The Valley, Carnon Downs www.thevalleycornwall.co.uk

 

SUSTAINABLE TOURISM AWARD

Sponsored by Canara Organic Farm www.apassionforfood.co.uk

 

GOLD                    Bosinver Farm Cottages, St Austell www.bosinver.co.uk

SILVER                  The Emerald, Carnon Downs www.emeraldcornwall.co.uk

BRONZE               Dolbeare Park, Landrake www.dolbeare.co.uk

COMMENDED    The Headland Hotel, Newquay www.headlandhotel.co.uk

COMMENDED    Kernock Cottages, Saltash www.kernockcottages.com

 

RESTAURANT OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by St Austell Brewery www.staustellbrewery.co.uk

 

GOLD                    Restaurant Nathan Outlaw, Rock www.nathan-outlaw.com

SILVER                  Langmans Restaurant, Callington  www.langmansrestaurant.co.uk

BRONZE               Outlaw’s Fish Kitchen, Port Isaac www.outlaws.co.uk/fishkitchen

COMMENDED    Ruin Cafe, Tresco  www.tresco.co.uk

 

WINNER OF WINNERS

Sponsored by Springboard www.springboard.uk.net

 

The Lost Gardens of Heligan, Pentewan www.heligan.com

 

OUTSTANDING CONTRIBUTION TO TOURISM

 

John & Carolyn Armstrong, owners of The Headland Hotel, Newquay www.headlandhotel.co.uk